Xone Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home » Products » Xone:DB4
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - "Traktor Scratch Certified" by ????
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Forum Locked"Traktor Scratch Certified" by ????

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
MoMo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 March 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 87
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MoMo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: "Traktor Scratch Certified" by ????
    Posted: 12 March 2011 at 1:34pm
With the 1 April 2011 release of Traktor Pro 2 rappidly approaching, I'm

really hoping that there's some aggressive efforts underway to get the

DB4 "Traktor Scratch Certified" soon. Obviously, I have my own personal

reasons for stating this (if you've read my posts on here and NI's site) but I

am mostly concerned that if the Scratch capability is overshadowed by the

ever-increasing spotlight on DJs, even Pro DJs doing the

pushbutton+sync midi control of Traktor, then the quite possibly small

number of users like me who mix with both analog (vinyl) and digital

mediums won't get to have that "fusion mix capability" with our DB4s like

we wish.



You can't please everyone and not everything users demand are that

important but hey....if we analog enthusiasts continue to lose this

battles...



If getting the certification is all that is required, what's the real hold up.



"Traktor Scratch Certified" around the 1st would be ideal but we can only

hope it's at least soon afterwards.



The mixarchitekt tsi template for Traktor works brilliantly. This midi set-

up takes a bit to get used to but allowed me to free up other things like

Maschine for being the drum sampling sequencing groove & beatbox

monster that can work with TSPro on the same computer. I'd like to add

more control for effects, filters, etc. controls that exist on the X1 and S4

(NOT ALL OF THEM - just the most functional). I've successfully got all

three working on one computer TSPro+Maschine+Ableton but the Audio 8

DJ addition is not ideal for me because it's just three USB ports on my

MBPro: DB4, Maschine, and Audio 8 DJ. I'd like to have my APC in there

for Abelton control so a USB hub would work yet this is one more reason

to certify the DB4 (would free up the port the Audio 8 DJ is using and add

timecode control).



That's better than nexus - it's a total DJ/Producer fusion.
www.runningoutofspace.com
Xone:DB4, (2) Xone:K2s; TSP 2.6.X, (2) Technics SL1210MK5Gs| Elektron OT/AR/A4| Ableton Push/Live 9 Suite+Max6 & NI Maschine version 2.X
Back to Top
MoMo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 March 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 87
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MoMo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 April 2011 at 4:08pm
Obviously not many are posting here in these forums but for the record, I will.

I hate that Pioneer's DJM-T1 is the second mixer with Certified status before even hitting the shelves and even though this mixer isn't a threat to the DB4, their efforts irk me and are suspect of some back-room contract like ekwipt mentioned. Sure the beat jugglin and scratch battler DJs need a new mixer like the T1 but how is it possible that Pioneer can keep stealling the light away from competitors while riding the Traktor wave consistently and not even come close to beating the Xone DB4 in any offering?

DB4 users will have to adapt. You can use the timecode set-up I managed to troubleshoot but I won't use it because without the current aggregate I/O option, the Audio-XX DJ device will take precedence and cut out the DB4 soundcard. I decided to use the DB4 as is because it's brilliant with the midi template Mixarchitekt created. The template allows you to still control four decks in faster ways than the Maschine (and two X1s) but the onboard features of the DB4 are supreme and right there as well so...done.

This mixer is something that doesn't really need the timecode control to work and have fun with Traktor Pro 2.

I would only use timecode to transition back from real vinyl to digital but the replacement function I was seeking simply involves using a CDJ and loading tracks on USB to directly manipulate tracks. I don't use CDJs but for me this means that I now have more reasons to record my vinyl gems.

In the next few weeks, I plan on visiting Paris or Nimes to test out a Feeltune Rhizome and if it is right, I will get one (or two). I won't need timecode after that because I will still use Traktor controlled digitally on the DB4 and will be running (hopefully) my transferred sequences made in Abelton and Maschine on the Rhizome groove sequencer(s). That already is too much going on so I won't want timecode and will just start to transfer the gems in hopes that they will only need to by sync'd by Traktor for use.

I will still continue to buy vinyl and record them in 24bit/96kHz

-MoMo
www.runningoutofspace.com
Xone:DB4, (2) Xone:K2s; TSP 2.6.X, (2) Technics SL1210MK5Gs| Elektron OT/AR/A4| Ableton Push/Live 9 Suite+Max6 & NI Maschine version 2.X
Back to Top
MoMo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 March 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 87
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MoMo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 April 2011 at 10:02pm
This is on page 7 of the DB4 topic on Native Instruments' Traktor DJ
Controllers forum.

Originally posted by loofie;839020 loofie;839020 wrote:

I've got bad news from A&H regarding the DB4
certification. Allen & Heath wrote me yesterday:

"Unfortunately the word from the Native Instruments Sales Manager
regarding the Traktor Scratch certification request is:

Xone:DB4 scratch certification was rejected from the DJ Division, due to
a low projection of units being sold in the first 24 months.


As this is not our decision, all we can suggest is for DB4 owners who
would like the mixer to become Scratch certified is lobby NI about
changing their requirement for scratch certification; this is a new
condition NI introduced – we have no influence over this, that is all the
information we have on this."



Tell that this isn't true? Is that even legal?
www.runningoutofspace.com
Xone:DB4, (2) Xone:K2s; TSP 2.6.X, (2) Technics SL1210MK5Gs| Elektron OT/AR/A4| Ableton Push/Live 9 Suite+Max6 & NI Maschine version 2.X
Back to Top
fist View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 19 February 2013
Location: belgium
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 February 2013 at 6:15pm
hi momo,
i've read your thread on the resident advisor forum and i bought the xone DB4.
incredible machine!
still no tsp certification dough.

i sent following e-mail to NI regarding the tsp certificate:

dear,

i would like to add scratch and timecode to my setup.
i own a xone db4 so i have an exelent audio interface!
but i've read that it wont work wit tsp? and i have to buy an external nI audiointerface?
why did i pay somuch money to DB4 if i still have to buy an additional AI? i feel a bit left in the cold by NI.
i dont get it why pioneer gets the certificate and the xone doesnt?
i see you can choose the xone filters in traktor, so u are using xones name for the filters. but a certificate is to much to ask?
I really dont get it.
I always bought legit NI stuf:
started with behringer bcd and an x1,traktor pro, than an S4 but had troubles with the fader from channel A so i thought why not invest in an ultradurable high end mixer?
so i bought the xone DB4 because it had a lot of routing options, etc..
but now i come across this tsp certify issue.

can u tell me:
- is this gonna happen?
- if not, why not?

hope u can clear this up!

you dont need skillz on a pioneer. its just a bunch of standard predictable..mainstream noise for the mass.

thats just my opinion as a tru NI supporter. love the maschine! and all the rest of the stuff but you will make me and a lot of other poeple around the globe very happy with a certificate for the DB4

hope u can bring me some good news in your reply!


THE NI REPLY:

Hello,

Its not us whos deciding on which controller that working with our Traktor Scratch
Pro 2 software or not, its the respective company's.
----------------------------------------------------------------------

thougt i should mention this after reading previous tread!


MBP 2GHZ i7 16gbram 512gbSSD- xone db4- x1 - maschine - apc40 - microkorg - APRO 500 - arturia analog factory- ableton - traktor
Back to Top
OmnilimbO View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 16 September 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Status: Offline
Points: 158
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote OmnilimbO Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 February 2013 at 7:29pm
That is an odd response to get from NI, because from what A&H have said, it is NI who decides. So who is it? Make it happen.
Back to Top
fist View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 19 February 2013
Location: belgium
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fist Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 February 2013 at 8:32pm
its been almost 2 years ago this was posted!!
unbelievable! Are they in some kind of argument?
dont understand why this takes so long..
MBP 2GHZ i7 16gbram 512gbSSD- xone db4- x1 - maschine - apc40 - microkorg - APRO 500 - arturia analog factory- ableton - traktor
Back to Top
GregAHXone View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group


Joined: 28 February 2012
Location: Cornwall, UK
Status: Offline
Points: 701
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GregAHXone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 February 2013 at 11:57am
We understand that the lack of Traktor Scratch certification is a frustration for some Xone:DB4 customers.

We are disappointed that Native Instruments has chosen not to certify the DB4 due to a decision based upon sales volume.

With its advanced feature set and accompanying price point the Xone:DB4 is obviously a top end product and was never conceived as a mass market mixer, so we are simply not able to promise NI the volume of sales they require to provide the certification.
Greg Ibbotson
Allen & Heath - DJ Product Specialist
Back to Top
ferluno01 View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 20 June 2012
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 27
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ferluno01 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 February 2013 at 6:50pm
Here is a vid some might find interesting concerning the db4 and traktor. If this post is against the rules please feel free to delete.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dVTchm7CwFM&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Back to Top
carmomi View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 19 August 2012
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote carmomi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 February 2013 at 7:14pm
Many thanks!
Back to Top
tzvieira View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 18 May 2012
Location: Peniche
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tzvieira Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 February 2013 at 12:43pm
Anyone know how to do in OSX 10.7??
Back to Top
tzvieira View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 18 May 2012
Location: Peniche
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tzvieira Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 February 2013 at 12:48pm
Originally posted by ferluno01 ferluno01 wrote:

Here is a vid some might find interesting concerning the db4 and traktor. If this post is against the rules please feel free to delete.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?
v=dVTchm7CwFM&feature=youtube_gdata_player





Anyone know how to do in OSX 10.7??
Back to Top
MoMo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 March 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 87
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MoMo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 February 2013 at 9:19pm
Doesn't work on Mac because the device details are way beyond user's reach....
www.runningoutofspace.com
Xone:DB4, (2) Xone:K2s; TSP 2.6.X, (2) Technics SL1210MK5Gs| Elektron OT/AR/A4| Ableton Push/Live 9 Suite+Max6 & NI Maschine version 2.X
Back to Top
tzvieira View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 18 May 2012
Location: Peniche
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tzvieira Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 February 2013 at 9:43pm
Originally posted by MoMo MoMo wrote:

Doesn't work on Mac ........


Thanks, MoMo.
I just wanted to know how we could do in osx. I've a legal Traktor version :)
My DB4 and my 2 K2 for now leave me satisfied
:))))))))))))))))
Back to Top
MoMo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 March 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 87
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MoMo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 July 2013 at 11:41pm
Bump!.. (my last comment has now become a false statement)
www.runningoutofspace.com
Xone:DB4, (2) Xone:K2s; TSP 2.6.X, (2) Technics SL1210MK5Gs| Elektron OT/AR/A4| Ableton Push/Live 9 Suite+Max6 & NI Maschine version 2.X
Back to Top
engel75 View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 05 December 2011
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote engel75 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 March 2014 at 10:02am
Originally posted by MoMo MoMo wrote:

Bump!.. (my last comment has now become a false statement)


any hints about howto do that? :)
Back to Top
engel75 View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 05 December 2011
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote engel75 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 March 2014 at 10:26am
Originally posted by engel75 engel75 wrote:

Originally posted by MoMo MoMo wrote:

Bump!.. (my last comment has now become a false statement)


any hints about howto do that? :)



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7eEkWPbqK28
Back to Top
MoMo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 March 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 87
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MoMo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 March 2014 at 7:45am
All legal issues aside, the information on how to do it is nine months old and probably won't work since NI never endorses these things...you can check

---------
www.djtechtools.com/2014/03/07/hack-a-mixer-to-be-traktor-scratch-certified
-------
But that's all on DJ Techtools
www.runningoutofspace.com
Xone:DB4, (2) Xone:K2s; TSP 2.6.X, (2) Technics SL1210MK5Gs| Elektron OT/AR/A4| Ableton Push/Live 9 Suite+Max6 & NI Maschine version 2.X
Back to Top
Counterpoise View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 10 April 2014
Location: Netherlands
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Counterpoise Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 April 2014 at 10:23pm
I can confirm the hack isn't working with the following:

Using MAC OS 10.9.2, TRAKTOR SCRATCH 2.6.8 + XONE DB2 (newest drivers/firmware). Only one turntable (channel two) is working. Channel one is lacking calibration or won't receive a signal at all. It looks like sometimes it picks up part of the signal from channel two. 

Which is to bad, the sound quality of that one channel is waaay better than with NI Audio 6. Can't do a lot of mixing though with just one channel :)
Back to Top
MoMo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 March 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 87
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MoMo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 April 2014 at 11:59pm
1. You are on Mac OSX 10.9.X and the latest DB is still in Beta.
2. The hex file that existed during the original video timeframe changed as Traktor updated several times.   
www.runningoutofspace.com
Xone:DB4, (2) Xone:K2s; TSP 2.6.X, (2) Technics SL1210MK5Gs| Elektron OT/AR/A4| Ableton Push/Live 9 Suite+Max6 & NI Maschine version 2.X
Back to Top
MoMo View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 10 March 2011
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 87
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MoMo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 April 2014 at 9:01am
It has been brought to my attention that an original modified version of the file can be used by direct location replacement within current versions.
www.runningoutofspace.com
Xone:DB4, (2) Xone:K2s; TSP 2.6.X, (2) Technics SL1210MK5Gs| Elektron OT/AR/A4| Ableton Push/Live 9 Suite+Max6 & NI Maschine version 2.X
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.01
Copyright ©2001-2011 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.203 seconds.