Xone Forum Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home » Products » Xone:92
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - How to connect an EFX to your XONE 92
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Forum LockedHow to connect an EFX to your XONE 92

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
existo View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 27 September 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote existo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How to connect an EFX to your XONE 92
    Posted: 24 August 2006 at 7:28pm
Connections
Step 1
Get two pairs of balanced 1/4" TRS (tip ring sleeve) cables (not TS).
I recommend the brand hosa or mongami.

Step 2
Look at the back of your efx unit and find the +4 , -10 switch.

Step 3
Flip that switch to +4

Step 4

Come out of the aux out of the xone and into the efx with the two 1/4 trs
cables

Step 5
Now choose between the first two (return) channels (the ones with the
mic/line inputs at the very left of you mixer not the 4 rca channels where
you hook up your decks and cdjs

Step 6
After you have chosen one of the first two channels make sure that you
are on line.
Step 7
Now bring the output of your efx into that channel.

To effect a desired channel heres how you do it :

Step 1
Hit the little aux button at the top of every channel on your mixer.
this sends that channel to the efx and from the efx back to the mixer on
channel one 1 or 2 (the (return) channels with the big 1/4" holes at the
back )

Step 2
Now when you want to effect that channel you fade the first channel in
and now you have the same tune on two channels.

Step 3
You fade the channel (you have your deck hooked up to) out but because
its going into the efx PRE fade (via the aux send) the music will still be
there for you (on channel 1) to apply fx.

Step 4
apply fx for as long as you like and then return to dry and fade another
channel back in

Step 5

Fade the first channel out

Step 6

Hit the aux button again to remove any music from going to the efx unit.

Repeat that process for any channel.
Hope this helps.
Back to Top
7e7e View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 07 February 2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 7e7e Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 August 2006 at 9:59pm
i prefer hooking my efx up to one of the 4 fader channels if you have an extra available. this gives you the options of:
-using filters on the effected sounds
-using the efx pre or post fader
-not having to turn the live channel down to use your efx
-greater flexibility

but that's just me...

thanks
Back to Top
Hugh like View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 04 June 2006
Location: Belgium
Status: Offline
Points: 34
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Hugh like Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 January 2007 at 2:19pm
I don't have a fader left, but hooked mine up to one of the MIC-
faders. the EQ's not the same, but it works just fine.
Back to Top
foler View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 29 August 2005
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote foler Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 February 2007 at 10:13am
Hello...
I have xone92 in combination with external exciter and eq. I want to connect this 2 effects in series for master chanell but that peak level meter show levels after all 2 ext. effects. Something like master insert on live mixers. How I can to this?

thanks
Back to Top
Latas33 View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 16 June 2007
Location: Portugal
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Latas33 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 June 2007 at 12:10am
Thank you guys...
I've been repplied in the EFX 1000 Forum with important tips. Go there if you want.

Back to Top
Latas33 View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 16 June 2007
Location: Portugal
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Latas33 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 June 2007 at 1:16pm
Hi guys...
For those who have this setup (xone 92 + efx 1000) i tell that the best way is to put the efx "in between" the mixer and the amplifier...
Thats the only way to get the most of all...
Back to Top
Alex D View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 16 September 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Alex D Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 September 2007 at 8:25pm
Using your Xone:92 with the EFX-1000 is a deadly combination!

Here is one way to interface the Xone:92 with the EFX1000:

1.) Using 1/4" cable(s), connect the Input from the EFX to either Aux 1 or Aux 2 of the Xone.

2.) Using 1/4" cable(s), connect the output of the EFX to one of the many outputs of a studio/PA mixer. I have a six-channel Peavey studio mixer, it cost about $120. If you can afford a Xone:92 and a EFX, you can afford a studio mixer.

I believe that this is the best setup, as you can have effects on all 4-channels of the Xone.

Plus, if you were using a Xone:92 + EFX1000 in a club setting, the EFX1000 would be connected to the PA mixer anyway.

You can also directly connect the EFX to a CDJ, but you would only have effects on that channel.

I saw some posts on here about connecting the EFX to the mic channels. I tried that, and the sound quality of the effects were rather poor. Plus, not all the effects functioned properly.

The studio mixer is the way to go! You can use effects on all channels with full funcionality!

Good Luck!
Back to Top
Takkero View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 12 October 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Takkero Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 October 2007 at 11:22am
Originally posted by Alex D Alex D wrote:

Using your Xone:92 with the EFX-1000 is a deadly combination!

Here is one way to interface the Xone:92 with the EFX1000:

1.) Using 1/4" cable(s), connect the Input from the EFX to either Aux 1 or Aux 2 of the Xone.

2.) Using 1/4" cable(s), connect the output of the EFX to one of the many outputs of a studio/PA mixer. I have a six-channel Peavey studio mixer, it cost about $120. If you can afford a Xone:92 and a EFX, you can afford a studio mixer.

I believe that this is the best setup, as you can have effects on all 4-channels of the Xone.

Plus, if you were using a Xone:92 + EFX1000 in a club setting, the EFX1000 would be connected to the PA mixer anyway.

You can also directly connect the EFX to a CDJ, but you would only have effects on that channel.

I saw some posts on here about connecting the EFX to the mic channels. I tried that, and the sound quality of the effects were rather poor. Plus, not all the effects functioned properly.

The studio mixer is the way to go! You can use effects on all channels with full funcionality!

Good Luck!


i have kaoss pad 3 and xone:92

i have the same problem of all to connect my KP3 to xone:92 as all... i try the first post setup to connect my kp3 and it works but i must have 3 arms to use it to move up and down the faders... so i think about ur setup but i dont understand ur setup... can u explain better (maybe with a simple - paint image) the connection u use to have effect on all channels?

i dont understand:

"2.) Using 1/4" cable(s), connect the output of the EFX to one of the many outputs of a studio/PA mixer"

connect the OUTPUT into another OUTPUT???

please explain it better, explaining each step... i dont undestand because:

1) Aux 1 xone -> EFX 1000 input .... OK!

2) EFX 1000 output -> PA Mixer output (???)

and now? how works?

supposing u wrong to write and u means PA Mixer input it becames:

2) EFX 1000 output -> PA Mixer input .... OK!

now?

the master output of PA Mixer where must be connect??
to return 1 of Xone:92?

sorry i dont undestrand ... also how u can use effect on all channel...

--------------------------------

the setup i think was something like

1) Xone:92 MASTER 1 output -> Channel 1 input of another mixer (that has the normal SEND/RETURN)

2) connect EFX/KP3 to send / return of Mixer 2.

3) Connect the mixer 2 master output to amplifiers


with this setup u effect wet the MASTER output of xone:92. of curse u can effect only this signal so u cannot effect for example the Cue song or sample it... only the MASTER OUTPUT OF XONE:92

u mean this??

thx for reply!
Back to Top
Alex D View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 16 September 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Alex D Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 October 2007 at 7:29pm
I made a mistake in my typing. You are correct, the input of the pa mixer is what we want to focus on not the output, output to output makes no sense.

Here is a better explanation:

1. Aux 1 or Aux 2 from Xone:92 connected to Input of effects unit.
2. Output of effects unit connected to EFX return of PA mixer.

All the while, Mix 1 or Mix 2 of the Xone:92 would be connected to the Main Out of the PA mixer. The PA mixer being connected to the amp(s).

I apologize for the mistakes in my writing.



Back to Top
franzdj View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 11 September 2007
Location: Italy
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote franzdj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 November 2007 at 7:05pm
good elucidation
Back to Top
karlanton View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 24 December 2007
Location: Dominican Republic
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote karlanton Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 December 2007 at 8:27pm
Hi... i bought my self a Digital Delay Guitar pedal, Boss DD6, can you guys please help me with this connection?

Thx!
Back to Top
allylyzac View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 12 March 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote allylyzac Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2008 at 8:48pm
Originally posted by Alex D Alex D wrote:

Using your Xone:92 with the EFX-1000 is a deadly
combination!

Here is one way to interface the Xone:92 with the EFX1000:

1.) Using 1/4" cable(s), connect the Input from the EFX to either Aux 1 or
Aux 2 of the Xone.

2.) Using 1/4" cable(s), connect the output of the EFX to one of the many
outputs of a studio/PA mixer. I have a six-channel Peavey studio mixer,
it cost about $120. If you can afford a Xone:92 and a EFX, you can afford
a studio mixer.

I believe that this is the best setup, as you can have effects on all 4-
channels of the Xone.

Plus, if you were using a Xone:92 + EFX1000 in a club setting, the
EFX1000 would be connected to the PA mixer anyway.

You can also directly connect the EFX to a CDJ, but you would only have
effects on that channel.

I saw some posts on here about connecting the EFX to the mic channels. I
tried that, and the sound quality of the effects were rather poor. Plus, not
all the effects functioned properly.

The studio mixer is the way to go! You can use effects on all channels
with full funcionality!

Good Luck!


I understand what your saying but the main problem isn't solved then is
it?
The original problem was that, when you connect everything as it should
be true the aux channels, you can effect every channel seperated BUT for
instance: when you would use a filter, you can't effect the WHOLE
signal!!So your effect are heard but not good and strong enough.
Now you solved the problem and you made sure that you can effect the
complete signal BUT with your method, you cannot effect every channel
separated! you will always effect your master signal instead of the
channel you prefer.
Or am I wrong?
If not, you just found the solution!
please tell me: does your method allow to effect each channel seperate
AND does it allow to effect the WHOLE signal?

thanks!

Sébastjen
Back to Top
Alex D View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 16 September 2007
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Alex D Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 May 2008 at 10:02pm
You are correct, all channels would be effected. I haven't found a way to successfully effect one channel at a time all the while having the option of effecting the other channels as well.

I don't believe that the Pioneer EFX is ultimately compatible with the Xone:92. But, supposedly the Xone:42 is a bit more compatible with the EFX unit?

Either way, for me it doesn't matter, I sold my EFX unit several weeks ago, I'm actually happier without it.

Back to Top
m_nus View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 25 September 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 11
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote m_nus Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 October 2008 at 2:48am
Is there a phase problem with when using the xone 92 with external fx ie. you fx run at a slightly delayed rate? I read that you had to keep the fx unit on wer constant to avoid this..any truth?
Back to Top
Smeckma View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 16 October 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Smeckma Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 October 2008 at 7:48pm
Hey guys! I dont know how it is on the EFX but on the KaossPad3 there is a switch to select between "direct" (you select this if you put it direct after ie a cdj) and "send". You should select "Send"!

Connect the AUX from the 92 to the input of your FX unit and the the output goes to one of the returns. Turn all wet/dry knobs on your FX unit to wet. there you go! The return chanel fader is now your wet/dry fader.

(Only thing is when you use looping effects (roll on the EFX) you have to turn down the chanel fader, otherwise the uneffected signal will overlay the loop effect)

I hope you understand what I mean! Sorry for my baad english!
Back to Top
cicciobarbara View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 20 January 2009
Location: Italy
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cicciobarbara Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 October 2009 at 10:59pm
hi

i have some problems with xone 92 when i try to connect it to effect (for
example exf1000 or VF1)

if i understand i must connect the effect's IN to xone's AUX 1 and the
effect's OUT to xone's RETURN 1.

after select RETURN in the channel 1 and open it. clich on on the switch.

is it correct?

i hope it.

so when i work with it i use to mix the music only the aux1
potentiometer (with the bottom PRE pressed) - i don't use the slider
becouse the if it open the sound is double ...

i would to like to use the channel and the effect without aux
potentiometer but i don't know how!!!!

have you some suggestions?

thanks!!!
Back to Top
johnny a View Drop Down
New Member
New Member


Joined: 10 December 2008
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote johnny a Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 December 2009 at 7:56pm
i have bought a boss delay pedal with my 92 and have hooked it up through the aux send 1 to aux return 1 but dont understand the pre fade and post fade buttons at the top, can someone help, is this the best way to set the delay up, im using the other 4 channels for music usingtraktor, thanks
Back to Top
Guests View Drop Down
Guest
Guest
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 January 2010 at 12:39pm
Hi johnny a

Originally posted by johnny a johnny a wrote:

...dont understand the pre fade and post fade buttons at the top...
These switches alter the point in the signal path where channel signals route to the AUX SEND buses.
For more info refer to p.20[2] of the Xone:92 User Guide

Hope this helps

Back to Top
Mike Monkeyboy View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 30 March 2011
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mike Monkeyboy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 March 2011 at 7:29pm
Hello!

I have really started to grow gray hairs after trying to implement my
newbought efx1000 to my even never but beloved xone92...

THE PROBLEM:

No matter how i tweak, adjusts, pre or post fade.. i still have this harsch
fader sound on my wet returnsignal.. but with same "tuning" my boss dd7
pedal sounds fantastic and clean..

I've heard Ellen Alien on the same setup, and it sounded super, so it is
possible:-)

Please help me

//Mike
Denmark
Back to Top
Finni74 View Drop Down
New Member
New Member
Avatar

Joined: 26 April 2011
Location: Switzerland
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Finni74 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 April 2011 at 6:36pm
hi all

i dont have a xone92 at home. but i have an idea... :-)

setup and connections:

- ch1 + ch2 for cdj or whatever
- ch1 + ch2 aux1 postfade
- ch1 + ch2 xfade on x position

- ch1 + ch2 aux1 to efx500 input
- efx500 output to ch3 input

- ch3 fader full up
- ch3 xfade on x position

- crossfader on y position

okay, and now my questions. is it now possible to use faders and the eq from ch1 + ch2 to mix as normally? or has the crossfader an effect (silence) on aux1 on this position? does it work like the efx is between mixer and amp?

sorry for my bad english. i hope enyone understand my description and tried it out... :-)
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.01
Copyright ©2001-2011 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.